Gromfest Wrap Up

Gromfest Wrap Up



Local Surfers Michael Wright and Kirstin Ogden Win the Blue Ribbon Rusty Gromfest Divisions

Rusty Gromfest 2011 Champions Crowned!

Monday July 11 2011, Lennox Head NSW:Michael Wright (Lennox Head) and Kirstin Ogden (Suffolk Park Byron) were crowned 16 Boy's and 16 Girl's Rusty Gromfest champions respectively for 2011.

Both locals dominated their finals from start to finish using their local knowledge of the tricky beachbreak conditions to best advantage to win.

"Knowing the waves out here is an advantage for sure and I chose to surf the right waves in the final - there were plenty of options between the southern and northern banks - luckily I went south and found some good wave...It's a great event to win - the biggest Grom event in Australia for sure" said 15 year old Wright.

Wright defeated Jordan Lawler from Nth Narrabeen Sydney who had been dominate all event utilising some excellent aerial skills which saw him take out the Kerrazy Airshow title.

For Ogden it was her second consecutive Rusty Gromfest title and the 16 year old is having a great season following her under 16 Australian Title last December.

"I stayed calm out there and selected my waves as best I could and so happy to win -- It's a great event" said Kirstin.

Lennox Head Beachbreaks again delivered consistent, powerful and somewhat challenging conditions today with a very straight solid swell pounding the outer banks and surfers were forced to utilize the best of their ocean skills to negotiate the surf.

As the most prestigious Grom event in Australia today's winners join an outstanding bunch of previous champions that includes Mick Fanning and Stephanie Gilmore!


16 BOY'S - Michael Wright (Lennox Head), Jordan Lawler (Nth Narrabeen), Hiroto O'Hara (Japan), Chris Robinson (Cronulla)

16 GIRL'S - Kirstin Ogden (Suffolk Park), Coco Beeby (Scotts Head), Sophia Bernhard (Manly) and Ella Williams (NZ)

14 BOY'S - Cody Robinson (Jan Juc), Kalani Ball (Stanwell Park), Jeames Young (Yamba), Kai Hing (Sunshine Coast)

14 GIRL'S - Holly - Sue Coffey (Crescent Head), Laura Poncini (Sunny Coast), Karelle Poppke (Tahiti), Nagisa Tashiro (Japan)

12 BOY'S - Luke Wrice (Coledale/SthCoastNSW), Kehu Butler (NZ), Sandon Whittaker (Avoca), Billy Harrison (Barwon Heads)

12 GIRL'S - Kiani Dobbyn (Palm Beach), Kobie Enright (Tweed Heads), Alyssa Lock (Tweed Heads), Alysse Cooper (Allambie Heights)


1ST:Jordan Lawler (Nth Narrabeen), Mark Merrikin, Jack Duggan, Brendan Hay.



Ppl like you get all the branis. I just get to say thanks for he answer.


Oh yeah, fbaulous stuff there you!


Wow! Great tnhiking! JK


Wow, your post makes mine look febele. More power to you!

Back to top